To continue operating your vehicle legally in Colorado, you must renew your registration every 12 months. It must be renewed with the Colorado Department of Revenue (DOR) Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Credit or debit card. OR Providing your bank account information.
Hybrid and electric vehicles 7 model years and newer. Diesel vehicles 4 model years and newer. New vehicles 7 model years and newer. Collector vehicles model year 1975 or older. Motorcycles.Farm vehicles.
Special vehicles such as: kit cars, all electric vehicles, street rods and vehicles registered as horseless carriage.
The CO DMV allows you to renew your vehicle registration up to 1 month after the expiration month. After that, you must pay a $25 late fee for every month or any portion of a month, your registration is expired. The late fee can be up to a total of $100.
Your Colorado license plate number.Current insurance information on file.Current emissions test on file, if applicable. Payment for the renewal fee. (See “Fees for Your CO Registration Renewal” below.) Your e-mail address.
Take the above to your local Colorado DMV county registration office, or mail it to the address indicated on your renewal notice.
Your registration renewal notice. Payment for your renewal fee. (See “Fees for Your CO Registration Renewal” below.) A completed Application for an Affidavit of Emissions Extension (Form DR 2376). If your vehicle is in a county that requires emissions testing, you must pass the out-of-state emission test.
OR If your vehicle is somewhere that doesn’t require emissions testing, have a law enforcement officer (including military and campus police) complete a Verification of Vehicle Identification Number (Form DR 2698).
Vehicle Emissions Testing in Colorado
Email this form to yourself and complete it on your computer.
Thanks! We’re glad we could help you today. Be sure to connect with us on social so we can share even more useful information and tips with you.
If you need any additional assistance with your DMV-related task, please contact Customer Care.
Your registration fees. The mailing address of your local county clerk. Proof of insurance requirements, if applicable. Emissions testing requirements, if applicable.
If your CO vehicle registration will expire while you are temporarily out of state and you need an emissions test, you’ll need to apply for an emissions extension.
You can renew your Colorado vehicle registration by mail or in person. Only some counties will allow you to complete your registration renewal online.
Our goal is to give you the most up-to-date, accurate information about your state DMV’s processes. The date you see here reflects the most recent time we’ve verified this information with your state DMV. When they change something, we do, too!
Colorado DMV vehicle registration fees may vary by county, and are based on your vehicle’s:
The CO DMV allows you to renew your vehicle registration, without a penalty up to 1 month after the expiration month.
For mailed-in registration renewals, you must pay by check made payable to your local county clerk.
To renew your registration online, visit the Colorado DMV online renewal portal and provide:
After that, you must pay a $25 late fee for every month or portion of a month your registration is expired. The maximum late fee is $100.
You should receive your vehicle registration documents and license plate sticker in the mail within 15 business days. If you don’t, you can check the status of your registration renewal by contacting the DMV.
Visit the Colorado DMV website to find an emissions testing location near you.
Your CO registration renewal notice. Make sure all information is correct. Proof of your emissions test, if applicable. Proof of your insurance policy, if necessary. Payment. (See “Fees for Your CO Registration Renewal” below.)
Submit this form to the Colorado DMV to request an extension on your vehicle emissions test if you’re out-of-state when the deadline elapses.
If you never received your registration renewal notice, you should contact your local Colorado county registration office.
NOTE: Please check your renewal notice to see if your county allows online renewal.
Make sure our Newsletter makes it to your inbox by adding firstname.lastname@example.org to your safe sender list or email address book.
Gas-powered vehicles with a model year of: 1982 and newer: $25. 1981 and older: $15. Diesel-powered vehicles: Varies by inspection station.
Contact your local Colorado emissions station for more information about testing fees.
Payment options vary by county and offices. Please contact your local county registration office to confirm accepted payment methods.
To apply for an emissions extension, you’ll need to send the following to your local Colorado county clerk office:
On this page you’ll find information about renewing your Colorado vehicle registration online, by mail, and in person.
It will cost you the following fees for an emissions test in Colorado:
To renew your Colorado vehicle registration by mail or in person, you’ll need:
Your Colorado vehicle registration renewal notice will inform you whether or not your vehicle needs an emissions test.
Refer to your vehicle registration renewal notice for your fee, or visit your county registration office to determine the registration fees that you owe. Registration renewal fees are not given over the phone.
Start Your StateRegistration.org Simplified Registration Renewal
Age. Weight. Taxable value. Purchase date. License plate type.
Home Colorado Registration & Title Registration Renewal Registration Renewal in Colorado
To find out if your vehicle needs an emissions test, what kind and how often please call Air Care Colorado Hotline at (303) 456-7090 for more information.
NOTE: Emission tests for diesel-powered vehicles will be valid for a varied number of years, depending on their age and weight. You will pay a maximum fee of 1 hour of the posted labor rate at the inspection station.
Form required to verify the VIN on a Colorado vehicle previously titled/registered out-of-state OR to correct a title. Must be completed by a DMV-approved VIN verification provider.
Download Open the form DR 2376 Application for an Affidavit of Emissions Extension
What can we do better? Please help us improve by sharing your feedback below:
If you are renewing your CO vehicle registration online, you must pay by:
The Colorado DMV will send you a renewal notice before your vehicle registration expires.
CO Registration Renewal Notice Renew Your Colorado Vehicle Registration Military & Out-of-State Colorado Residents Vehicle Emissions Testing in Colorado Fees for Colorado Registration Renewal
STATE MOTOR VEHICLE AGENCY Online Registration Online Registration One Click Renewal One Click Renewal Free Sticker Replacement Free Sticker Replacement Free Duplicate Registration Free Duplicate Registration DMV Advocates DMV Advocates 100% Satisfaction Guarantee 100% Satisfaction Guarantee Email Support Email Support Available Nights & Weekends Available Nights & Weekends Night and Weekend Support Night and Weekend Support Text Notifications Text Notifications Convenience Fee:$0 Convenience Fee:$0 Learn more